Cabinet of Ministers approves sanctions against Pat. Kirill and ROC clerics

30 August 2022 23:27
Cabinet of Ministers approves sanctions against Pat. Kirill and ROC clerics

Sanctions against the Primate and clerics of the Russian Orthodox Church must be approved by the Ukrainian President and the NSDC.

On 30 August 2022, the Ukrainian Cabinet of Ministers approved sanctions against Patriarch Kirill, as well as seven other figures of the Russian Orthodox Church: Metropolitan Hilarion (Alfeyev), former deputy head of the DECR MP Archpriest Nikolay Balashov, Metropolitan Tikhon (Shevkunov), Archbishop Pitirim (Volochkov) of Syktyvkar, Archpriest Artemy (Vladimirov), Archpriest Andrei Tkachev and theologian Alexei Osipov. The corresponding order was passed at a government meeting, reports the Cabinet of Ministers' website.

"The ROC supports Russia's war against the Ukrainian people and daily blesses war crimes against Ukrainians," Culture and Information Policy Minister Oleksandr Tkachenko said. “All those who have anything to do with this must be held accountable. The activities of these church officials from Russia are contrary to Christian values. Criminals should not hide behind cassocks".

The government has approved sanctions for 10 years. They include: blocking assets, stopping transit of resources, flights and transportation through Ukraine, suspending economic and financial obligations, banning participation in privatization and leasing of state property, halting cultural exchanges and cooperation, cancelling official visits, etc.

The proposals to the sanctions list were prepared by the Ministry of Culture and Information Policy together with the State Service of Ukraine for Ethnopolitics and Freedom of Conscience.

The list will still be reviewed by the NSDC as well as by the Ukrainian President. The report said that Ukraine intends to appeal to the international community to impose the same sanctions in other countries.

As earlier reported, the Verkhovna Rada asked the National Security and Defence Council of Ukraine to impose sanctions against eight representatives of the Russian Orthodox Church, including Patriarch Kyrill, for 10 years.

If you notice an error, select the required text and press Ctrl+Enter or Submit an error to report it to the editors.
Read also